Friday, December 18, 2015

2016 Copa America Centenario Schedule

2016 Copa America Centenario Schedule, soccer
2016 Copa America Centenario Schedule, soccer

* U.S. Soccer team will play in Santa Clara, Chicago, Philly for Copa America Centenario

The Copa América Centenario (2016 Centennial Copa America) is a scheduled international men's association football tournament that will be held in the United States to celebrate the centenary of CONMEBOL and Copa América. This is the first Copa América to be held outside of South America.

Last Thursday, they have announced the United States, Brazil, Mexico and Argentina to form as the four group seeds. Each team will head up a group of four teams that will give two winners and those winners will then qualifed for the quarterfinals after a round robin.

The United States Football men’s national team will play its group stage games in Santa Clara, California on June 3 for the tournament opener and then compete in Chicago on June 7 and Philadelphia on June 11. Brazil will have a game in Pasadena on June 4, Orlando, Florida on June 8 and Foxborough, Massachusetts on June 12. Team Mexico will be in Glendale, Arizona on June 5, Pasadena, California on June 9 and Houston, Texas on June 13. Argentina be in Santa Clara on June 6, then Chicago on June 10 and Seattle on June 14.

The group stage will take place from June 3 through June 14. The quarterfinals will be staged in Seattle; East Rutherford, NJ; Foxborough and Santa Clara on June 16, 17 and 18. The semifinals are scheduled for Houston on June 21 and Chicago on June 22. The final will also come to New Jersey on June 26. The day prior, a third-place game will be held in Glendale.

The United States got their seed by virtue of being the host nation. Argentina was rewarded with a seed for having the highest FIFA ranking in the Americas at the moment. Mexico and Brazil, meanwhile, were also seeded.

No comments:

Post a Comment